Salem local fishing spots

madasahab
madasahab
I am new to the Salem area and I am wondering if there is anyone who would like to go fishing and maybe show me the local haunts. I think the North
Santiam is the best bet or the Molalla as they are both relatively close. I am looking for "close to home" fishing spots for when I don't wish to travel. It would be great to meet some people to fish with. Thanks for reading...:think:

what are you looking to catch?

If you'd be interested in warmwater species, try Minto Brown Park in SW Salem near the Willy.

The North Santiam isn't far, nor is the main stem Santiam. Big Cliff and Detroit reservoirs are not far either. If you're into hiking a bit; there's Rickreall Creek above Dallas. And the Yamhill River has all kinds of fish in the lower stretches.

Last edited:
tomriker said:
what are you looking to catch?

I guess I should have mentioned I am after salmon and steelhead...

madasahab said:
I guess I should have mentioned I am after salmon and steelhead...

In a few months you could plunk for salmon at Emil Marx-Lloyd Strange County Park, aka "Social Security Hole", between Salem and Independence. Watch the Willamette Falls fish counts to see when that picks up. Those fish and summer steelhead go up the tributaries including the Santiams. Then just look for bank access at all the bridges and parks up the Santiam and see what others are doing. Just follow the trails.

troutdude said:
...... there's Rickreall Creek above Dallas........

(TD, sssshhhhhhhhhh we're not supposed to talk about that place :doh:)

Rickreall Creek, where's that. Never heard of it. Must not be very good. Probably don't want to go over that way unless you are into catching old tires, stinky boots, and getting yelled at by crotchedy old women.

Nothin' good up that way at all, no sireeee. :naughty: Probably just want to steer clear of that little mud puddle. Nothing to see there. :whistle:

troutdude said: